

The Indian Society of Remote Sensing (ISRS) has completed 53 years of its existence as one of the premier professional scientific societies in the country. Journal of the Indian Society of Remote Sensing (JISRS), the research publication of ISRS, with its humble beginning as "Photonirvachak" in 1973 is also completing 50 years this year. To celebrate this remarkable achievement, the Executive Council of ISRS along with the editorial board of JISRS has planned to organize the Golden Jubilee Celebration on 24 February 2023, at the IIRS Campus, Dehradun.

#### **NATIONAL ADVISORY COMMITTEE**

- i. Dr. Shailesh Nayak, Editor-in-Chief JISRS, Director NIAS Chairperson
- ii. Dr. Baldev Sahai, former President, Chief Editor JISRS Member
- iii. Prof. B L Deekshatulu, former President ISRS, Chief Editor JISRS Member
- $\hbox{iv.}\quad \hbox{Dr.\,George Joseph, former President ISRS, Chief Editor JISRS\,-\,Member}$
- v. Dr. S K Bhan, former President ISRS, former Dean IIRS Member
- vi. Dr. R R Navalgund, former President ISRS Member
- vii. Dr. K Radhakrishnan, former President ISRS Member
- viii. Dr. A S Kiran Kumar, former President ISRS Member
- ix. Dr. V K Dadhwal, former President ISRS Member
- x. Dr. Nilesh Desai, former President ISRS, Director SAC Member
- xi. Dr. YVN Krishnamurthy, former ISRS-EC, Registrar IIST Member
- xii. Dr. A Bhattacharya, former Chief Editor, JISRS Member
- xiii. Dr. Ramesh P Singh, former Chief Editor, JISRS Member
- xiv. Dr. Prakash Chauhan, President ISRS, Director NRSC Member Secretary

# **Background & Objectives of ISRS**

Established in 1969 as the "Indian Society of Photo-interpretation" with a not-for-profit scientific society, the main objectives remained towards advancement and dissemination of remote sensing with conventional methods in the field of survey, planning, and management of natural resources and the environment through organizing seminars/symposia and by publishing journal, bulletins, proceedings, etc. From its modest beginning with 56 members, the Society has grown into a premier professional body with a membership of more than 5900, including both individual and Institutional members. JISRS, a monthly publication of ISRS, continues to disseminate remote sensing technology and its applications to a widespread multidisciplinary audience. The objectives of ISRS also aimed at:

- Promoting interaction among government departments, researchers, academic institutions (private and/or state-owned), and industries interested in achieving advancement, dissemination, and application of the technology.
- To encourage and undertake research in remote sensing and related technologies.
- To undertake and execute all acts which shall promote all or any of the aims and objectives of Society.

#### Golden Jubilee Celebration of ISRS & JISRS

ISRS along with JISRS is celebrating the Golden Jubilee on 24 February 2023, at the IIRS Campus in the beautiful city of Dehradun. During the last 50 years, ISRS has established a very strong and professional relation with the International Society for Photogrammetry and Remote Sensing (ISPRS) and Asian Association on Remote Sensing (AARS). The JISRS, the official journal of ISRS, has one of the highest impact factor among various Indian scientific journals. To celebrate the last 50 years of journey and progress of ISRS and JISRS, following programs are planned as part of the Golden Jubilee celebrations.

- Inaugural session, Journey of ISRS and JISRS, past, present, & future directions in remote sensing and spatial science.
- Session for Young leaders, entrepreneurs, researchers, academia & ISRS members. Special session for the publishers of ISRS and JISRS.
- Felicitation of ISRS/JISRS stalwarts, followed by a Cultural evening and gala dinner.

## **NATIONAL PROGRAM COMMITTEE**

Dr. Prakash Chauhan, President ISRS, Director NRSC - Chairperson Dr. Raj Kumar, President ISG ii. - Member iii. Dr. R P Singh, Director IIRS - Member iv. Dr. S P Aggarwal, Director NESAC - Member Sh. PLN Raju, Spl Secretary, Govt. of Assam - Member vi. Dr. Senthil Kumar M., Chairman ISRS-AC - Member vii. Dr. Brijendra Pateriya, Director PRSC - Member viii. Dr. V Venkateshwar Rao, Chairman ISRS-HC - Member Dr. Bharat Lohani, IIT Kanpur, ISRS-EC - Member Dr. M P S Bisht, Chairman ISRS-DC - Member

### **LOCAL ORGANIZING COMMITTEE**

i.	Dr. R P Singh, Director IIRS	-	Chairperson
ii.	Dr. M P S Bisht, Chairman ISRS-DC	-	Member
iii.	Dr. Pramod Kumar, IIRS	-	Member
iv.	Dr. Sameer Saran, IIRS	-	Member
v.	Dr. S K Saha, former Dean IIRS, former ISRS-EC	-	Member
vi.	Dr. J V Thomas, ISRO, ISRS -EC	-	Member
vii.	Dr. Adarsh Kumar, ISRS-EC	-	Member
viii.	Dr. Poonam S Tiwari, IIRS/ISRS-EC	-	Member
ix.	Ms. Megha Dutta, AGI/ISRS-EC	-	Member
X.	Dr. Praveen K Thakur, IIRS/ISRS-EC	-	Member Secretary

Secretary